Skip to main content

USU Geologist Alexis Ault Receives Inaugural Charles and Nancy Naeser Prize in Thermochronology

Alexis Ault Receives Inaugural Naeser PrizeThe International Standing Committee for Thermochronology awards the Charles and Nancy Naeser Prize annually to early career scientists who have made outstanding and innovative contributions in this field. This new award is named in honor of Charles “Chuck” and Nancy Naeser in recognition of their ground breaking fundamental work in the field of thermochronology over many years (including the first studies of the uplift of the Wasatch Range). The inaugural winner (awarded for 2018) is Dr. Alexis Ault of the Utah State University Department of Geology. Alexis will receive her award, and undoubtedly give a great talk, at an international meeting in Germany in September 2018. Thermochronology is the study of the thermal history of rocks. Alexis' research develops new thermochronology-based approaches to document fault processes, including earthquakes. Congratulations, Alexis!  Read the entire Utah State Today article by Mary-Ann Muffoletto.