There are six specializations with the plan-A (MS and PhD in Geology) graduate programs: 1) Geomorphology and Earth Surface Processes; 2) Geophysics; 3) Hydrogeology; 4) Petrology and Geochemistry; 5) Sedimentology and Paleoecology; and 6) Structure and Tectonics.

Master of Science (MS). The department offers advanced study and research opportunities leading to the MS degree in Geology. Our traditional, Plan A (Thesis) option, requires the completion of a significant original research project. 

Applied Environmental Geoscience (MS). The second MS degree is a Plan B (non Thesis) option in Applied Environmental Geoscience, which focuses on coursework as well as a defended report.The AEG-MS degree has two tracks: Energy and Environmental.

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD). The Doctor of Philosophy degree in Geology requires original research, demonstration of a breadth of understanding in geology, as well as a depth of understanding in a chosen area(s) of emphasis. Each successful PhD candidate will produce a significant piece of original research, presented in a written dissertation and defended in an oral examination. There are two PhD program tracks: Academic and Professional. The Academic Track is designed to prepare graduates for a career in academia or other teaching-related settings; it includes classroom teaching experience under the supervision of a faculty teaching mentor. The Professional Track is designed to prepare graduates for work in careers in the extractive or environmental industries, and completion of an industry internship is encouraged.